top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChevonnese Chevers Whyte

Teaching with Technology Showcase 2014

Presentation: Google Apps as a Teaching Tool

Event: Roundtable Discussion

Date: April 15, 2014

Location: Centre for Excellence in Teaching and Learning, University of the West Indies, Mona


Title: The Group Project Problem and solving it with Google Apps

Event: Poster Display

Date: April 14, 2014 to April 16, 2014

Location: Centre for Excellence in Teaching and Learning, University of the West Indies, Mona


This was a 2-day event where I presented on "Google Apps as a Teaching Tool" and a poster display on "The Group Project Problem and solving it with Google Apps."


Maybe I am an advocate for Google tools in the classroom. I didn't set out to be. At the time I needed cost effective solutions that both my students and I could use and were still able to discuss the key concepts that were being discussed for the lesson.


The presentation explored a few Google services that could enhance the experience of students within the classroom.

While teaching my classes it was very evident that students were not willing to work in groups. I had to devise a recipe to assist with their development as it relates to working in a group. After all, they would need to work in teams when they leave school so they needed to develop the skills. The tools themselves may change but essence remains the same: an online project management tool, a communication tool with video recording, and an online file sharing service. It so happened that I used tools from Google but the essence remains the same. Check out my presentation on the poster and within the presentation is an image of the poster itself.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • LinkedIn Clean Grey
  • YouTube Clean Grey
  • academia-logo.png
bottom of page